Who We Are

Read Write Spell Advances the Science of Reading.

All of our work is based in the science of reading– how the brain learns to read. Our approach, rooted in brain research, has been proven to be more effective for more children than traditional approaches to reading.

We believe that, with proper instruction, all children can learn to read.

Watch our Video

Our Programs

We leverage the power of community volunteers to provide free, long-term, one-to-one reading instruction to Winston-Salem/Forsyth County Schools (WS/FCS) students who struggle with literacy skills. 

The K-1 Foundations program provides instruction in phonological and phonemic awareness, listening comprehension, and letter formation to kindergarten and first-grade students in order to prevent literacy struggles in later grades.

Our Staff

Kris Cox, Read Write Spell Executive Director, (336)779–1302, kris@readws.org
Esharan Monroe-Johnson, Associate Director Phone: (336)779-1304, esharan@readws.org
Margaret Dickinson,
Program Director, (336)779-1301, margaret@readws.org
Melissa Lester, Financial Secretary, (336)779-1305, melissa@readws.org
Paula Bennett, Events and Sponsorships Coordinator, (336)779-1303, paula@readws.org
Debbie Kelley, ALP Coordinator and Trainer, (336)779-1300 , debbie@readws.org
Susan Tague, Administrative Assitant, (336)779-1300 , susan@readws.org

Stay connected to Read Write Spell 

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Our Advisory Board

Executive Commitee

Michael Rogers, Chair
Pete Hellebush, Vice-Chair
Leigh Ann Woodruff, Former Chair
Parker K. Tegeler, Secretary
Holley Winikoff, Treasurer

Members

Ann Beery
Alex Bohannon
Woody Clinard
Kris Cox, Ex-Officio
Ida Davis
Sara Fox
Brent Hilleary
Jonathan Kelly
Malinda Kerns
Tony Leonardi
Jackie Piscetelli
Sharon Ralston
Lisa Rowell
Trish Spencer
Kathleen Tatter
Liz Williams

Founding Mothers

Becky Clingman, Voting
Susan Uphoff, Ex-Officio
Trudy Winstead, Ex-Officio

Pin It on Pinterest